COVID-19 Sports Update

As of March 3, and based on the Sport Risk Profiles from California Dept. of Public Health, the following is info relevant to each of TCHS’s sports programs and their potential seasons. (The Risk Profiles categorize the various high school sports within the colored-tier system for COVID transmission risk. The Profiles apply only to competition, not training/practice.)

All athletes need to be cleared on athleticclearance.com before they can come to practice. If help is needed please go to:

https://sites.google.com/view/tchsramrodderboosterclub/athletic-clearance?authuser=0

Masks must  be warn for practice and tryouts

SEASON 1 (“Fall”)   All State and Sectional playoffs have been canceled to buy time for league schedules to occur. However, all previously published league schedules have already been encroached upon.

CROSS COUNTRY (purple tier) – The Rio Hondo League is working on at least a couple of league meets to be run safely and under current protocols. Once determined and scheduled, info will be immediately shared. Site will likely be Hahamonga Watershed Park in Pasadena. Team is currently running workouts on Mon, Tues, Thurs at 4:00-5:30 

Coach Mike Tomasulo, mtomasulo@tcusd.net

GIRLS’ VOLLEYBALL (orange tier) – There will be no indoor season for Girls volleyball. (Due to the onset of Boys’ Volleyball and Boys & Girls Basketball)

Coach Lyle Takeshita, ltakeshita@tcusd.net

BOYS & GIRLS WATER POLO (orange tier) – Boys and girls water polo is currently practicing from Monday-Thursday in hopes in scheduling a game on March 19. End date for any possible games would be March 19. (Due to the onset of Swim season) 

Girls Water Polo Coach Brandon Rivas, brivas@tcusd.net

Boys Water polo Coach Davo Gharagyozyan, dav0818@yahoo.com

FOOTBALL: (orange tier) COVID ACR in LA County is now below 14/100,000, and contact football will be allowed to begin. Time remaining in the season will determine how many games are possible. Last possible game on April 16. Hoping for a scrimmage on 4/9 and a game on 4/19 (Due to onset of Soccer and Track schedules.) Team is currently running workouts:

Coach Riley Saxon, rsaxon@tcusd.net

 

SEASON 2 (“Spring”)   Some Spring sports have start dates coming up soon – if they are not yet allowed to compete by those dates, it does not necessarily mean their seasons are cancelled, but rather may be shortened. For example, if Soccer is not allowed to compete until the beginning of April, then schedule will be re-done and adjusted for the time remaining in the season.

BASEBALL: (red tier) – LA County must reach a Covid ACR or 14/100,000 or less for competition to begin. Season dates for Baseball are March 19 – May 29, followed by playoffs. Team is currently running workouts from Monday-Thursday 2:30-5:00: 

Coach Rob Nelson, rnelh1d@gmail.com

Tryouts: March 17 & 18 3:45-5. Please email Coach Nelson if you are interested in trying out with the following information: Name, Student ID number, Student email address, Grade

SOFTBALL: (red tier) – LA County must reach a COVID ACR of 14/100,000 or less for competition to begin. Season dates for Softball are March 19 – May 29, followed by playoffs. Team is currently running workouts from Monday-Thursday 3:30- 6:00

Coach Allison Moranchel, azellien1@gmail.com

BOYS’ VOLLEYBALL (orange tier) – LA County must reach orange tier for competition to begin (new details coming out for indoor sports). Season dates for BVB are March 13 – May 13, followed by playoffs. Team is currently running workouts on Wednesday 1:00-3:00

Coach Kristen Chen, kristenrchen@gmail.com

BOYS’ BASKETBALL (yellow tier) – LA County must reach yellow tier for competition to begin (new details coming out for indoor sports). Season dates for Basketball are March 12 – May 21, followed by playoffs. Team is currently running virtual workouts

Coach Ted Nuguid, tednuguid@yahoo.com

GIRLS’ BASKETBALL (yellow tier) – LA County must reach yellow tier for competition to begin (new details coming out for indoor sports). Season dates for Basketball are March 12 – May 21, followed by playoffs. Team is currently running virtual workouts

Coach Lyle Takeshita, ltakeshita@tcusd.net

BOYS’ SOCCER (orange tier) – LA County must reach a COVID ACR of 14/100,000 for competition to begin. Season dates for Soccer are Feb 27 – May 6, followed by playoffs. Team is currently running workouts on Tuesday and Thursdays from 2:00-5:00 

Coach Shane Watkins, shane.watkins.1972@gmail.com. Tryouts: 3/16 & 3/18, 2:30-4:30

GIRLS’ SOCCER (orange tier) – LA County must reach a COVID ACR of 14/100,000 for competition to begin. Season dates for Soccer are Feb 27 – May 6, followed by playoffs. Team is currently practicing on Monday and Wednesdays 3-4:30            

Coach Joe Franco, pinkjoefloydfan@aol.com. Tryouts: 3/15, 3:00-4:30

BOYS’ AND GIRLS TENNIS (purple tier) – Tennis is in the purple tier and thus will be allowed to compete. Boys’ and Girls season dates are Feb 22 – May 7. Team is not currently active, but intent is to start before long. Stay tuned for start dates.         

Coach Richard Slaymaker, rslaymaker@tcusd.net. Tryouts: 3/22, 2:00-3:30

SWIMMING (purple tier) – Swim is in the purple tier and thus will be allowed to compete. Season dates are March 13 – May 21. Team is practicing from Monday-Thursday from 4:00-6:00.

Coach Sarah Baham, sbaham@tcusd.net

TRACK & FIELD (purple tier) – Track is in the purple tier and thus will be allowed to compete. Season dates are March 20 – May 28. Team is currently running workouts on Monday and Wednesday from 1:30-3:00.

Coach Grant Rowe, growe@tcusd.net

BOYS AND GIRLS GOLF (purple tier) – Golf is in the purple tier and thus will be allowed to compete. Season dates are March 20 – May 28. Practices to begin soon at Eaton Canyon.

Boys Golf Coach Lyle Takeshita, ltakeshita@tcusd.net

Girls Golf Coach Barry Bacon, bbacon@tcusd.net